A A A

Ontario eSchool's AUP

AUP – Acceptable Use Policy


The purpose of this Policy is to insure the efficient, safe, ethical, and legal use of the OeS Technology. This Policy applies to all student users of OeS Technology, as well as users who obtain their access privileges through association with OeS.




Student And Parent Acknowledgement


Every student and his/her parent must electronically acknowledge the existence of this policy as a condition to receive access to OeS Technology. The Acknowledgement will remain in effect until such time as the student no longer is enrolled in OeS courses or a policy revision requires that a new acknowledgement form needs to be signed.




Educational Purposes


The purpose of OeS Technology is to serve as a resource for teaching and learning at OES. OES Technology may be used only for purposes consistent with the educational objectives of OES. OES Technology may not be used for recreational, personal, or commercial purposes.

Only authorized users may access OES Technology. OES Technology shall not constitute a public forum. OES students will have the ability to contact other OES students and employees via OES Technology. All communications and information accessible via any OES Technology may be accessed by OES and treated as OES property. This includes, but is not limited to email, chat text, voicemail, and course related documents or other files. Users are responsible for ensuring that their activities adhere to generally accepted educational standards. Inappropriate use includes all those activities prohibited to the user based on their allowed degree of access and any activity that violates the school's policies or procedures




Student Responsibilities May Include But Are Not Limited To:


  • Accessing, storing or sending an inappropriate or indecent website, files, messages or images.
  • Cyber-bullying or using obscene language, harassing, insulting, defaming, threatening or attacking others
  • Transmission of unsolicited advertising, promotional materials, or other forms of solicitation, including placing hyperlinks to non-OES related web sites
  • Mass mailings within OES without receiving permission from the Chief Information Officer
  • Gaining access to or attempting to modify employees', instructors', students' or third parties' folders, work or files
  • Gaining unauthorized access to restricted resources or organizations
  • Spreading, creating or using invasive software, such as computer viruses, worms, malware, or other detrimental technology
  • Misrepresenting oneself in any e-mail communication or while accessing OES Technology
  • Allowing third-party access to OES Technology without prior authorization from the Chief Information Officer or Chief Executive Officer
  • Encrypting communications or files to avoid security review
  • Accessing, using, or distributing another user's login or password
  • Sharing personal passwords or personal information, or mishandling passwords, access codes or other data in violation of any OES policy
  • Inappropriate activities performed through a student's account will be considered to be the actions of the account holder.
  • Involvement in any activity that is prohibited by this Policy, other OES policies, or by applicable law

Students should immediately notify their instructor, or the OES office of any violations of this Policy.




Personal Security


In addition to following the acceptable use guidelines listed above, OES recommends the following rules when students are outside OES' online learning environment:

  • Never arrange to get together with someone "met" online, unless you have parental permission.
  • Do not respond to any illicit or suspicious activities, and immediately report them OeS administration.
  • Do not engage in any activity that may violate OES' Pupil Safety and Violence Prevention Policy JICL.
  • Beware of emails from anyone, particularly adults you do not know, asking for personal information, attempting to arrange meetings, or engaging in personal contact.
  • Alert your instructor or other OeS employee of any message you receive that is inappropriate or makes you feel uncomfortable.
  • Never say anything via email that you would not mind seeing in a local newspaper.

OES cannot guarantee the appropriateness or accuracy of the information that students may access on the Internet outside of OES Technology. For those students who access OES Technology from a home computer, parents should be aware of this and monitor their children's communications and use of the Internet.




Consequences For Violation Of The Policy


Access to the Technology is a privilege, not a right. Users who abide by this Policy will be allowed to access OES Technology and any other technological resources made available to them. Users who do not abide with the policies set forth herein may be denied access to the Technology. Acceptable use practices, policies, and guidelines apply to anyone who accesses OES Technology.

OES' Rights

OES Technology is maintained and managed by the Chief Information Officer in such a way as to insure its availability and reliability in performing its educational mission. Users have no reasonable expectation of privacy concerning any materials transferred over or stored with OES Technology, even if protected by password. The OES reserves the right to:

  • Monitor all activity and use of OES Technology
  • Make determinations on whether specific uses of OES Technology are consistent with this Policy
  • Log Technology use by users
  • Determine what is appropriate use
  • Remove user access to OES Technology at any time it is determined that the user engaged in unauthorized activity or violated this Policy
  • Any OES administrator may terminate the account privileges of a student for any reason.
  • Cooperate fully with any investigation and law enforcement concerning or relating to OES Technology activity.



Definition And Scope Of OES Technology


OES Technology consists of all online computer accounts and applications owned or leased by OES, and any configuration of computer hardware and software that connects the users to the Technology. The term includes all of the application software, stored text, and data, voice, and image files. The term also includes computer accounts, electronic mail, local databases, externally accessed databases, digitized information, communication technologies and new technologies as they become available. Any computer, peripheral device, tablet computer, cell phone, pager or other device, not owned by OES, but which has been permitted to access the Technology, or which accesses the Technology without permission shall be governed by this Policy




OES' Limitation Of Liability


OES makes no warranties of any kind, either expressed or implied, that the functions or the services provided by or through OES Technology will be error-free or without defect. OES will not be responsible for any damage users may suffer, including but not limited to, loss of data or interruptions of service. OES is not responsible for the accuracy or quality of the information obtained through or stored on the system. OES will not be responsible for financial obligations or repair costs arising from the unauthorized use or intentional misconduct. OES assumes no responsibility for any phone charges, line costs or usage fees for connectivity to the Internet.

Back to Top

A A A

安大略eSchool政策

可接受使用政策


制定本政策的目的是保證能高效、安全、合乎道德及合法地使用OeS技術平台。本政策適用於OeS技術平台的所有學生用戶,以及經OeS網上學院授權使用的用戶。




學生及家長確認


每一位學生及其家長必須確認接受本政策,才能獲授權使用OeS技術平台。有關確認將持續生效至學生不再參加OeS課程,或政策作出修訂,需要簽署新的確認表。




衹限於教育目的


OeS技術平台乃用作OeS網上學院的教導與學習資源。OeS技術平台衹能用於與OeS網上學院教育目標相符的用途,並不得用於娛樂、個人及商業目的。

唯有獲授權使用者可使用OeS技術平台。OeS技術平台不應成為一個公共論壇。OeS學生可透過OeS技術平台聯絡其他OeS學生及職員。OeS網上學院可存取所有可透過OeS技術平台獲得的通訊和資訊,並視之為OeS網上學院的財產。這些通訊和資訊包括但不限於:電子郵件、聊天文字、話音郵件,以及與課程相關的文件或其他檔案。用戶須確保其活動符合公認的教育標準。不當使用的範圍包括:超出用戶使用權限的活動,以及違反學校政策或規定的活動。




學生須承擔責任的行為可能包括但不限於:


  • 存取、儲存或發送不當或不雅網站、檔案、資訊或圖像
  • 作出網絡恐嚇或使用污言穢語、騷擾、侮辱、中傷、威脅或攻擊他人
  • 未經同意發送廣告、宣傳資料,或進行其他形式的招攬
  • 未經資訊總監同意,擅自在OeS網上學院大量發送電子郵件
  • 存取或試圖修改職員、導師、學生或第三方的資料夾、功課或檔案
  • 未經授權存取受限制的資源或組織
  • 散播、開發或使用入侵性軟件,例如電腦病毒、網絡蠕蟲、惡意軟件或其他有害技術
  • 以虛假身份進行任何電子郵件通訊或使用OeS技術平台
  • 加密通訊內容或檔案,以避開保安審查
  • 存取、使用或散佈其他使用者的登錄名稱或密碼
  • 分享個人密碼或個人資料,或以違反任何OeS網上學院政策的方式不當處理密碼、存取代號或其他資料
  • 若經某學生帳號進行不當行為,帳號持有人將須承擔有關責任
  • 參與任何本政策、其他OeS網上學院政策或相關法律禁止的活動

若發生任何違反本政策的事件,學生應立即通知其導師或OeS網上學院辦公室。




個人安全保障


除了遵守上述可接受使用指引外,OeS網上學院還建議學生在OeS網上學習環境以外場合遵守以下規定:

  • 除非獲得父母的同意,否則切勿與網上認識的人士會面。
  • 切勿理會任何非法或可疑的活動,並立即將有關情況告知OeS網上學院行政部門。
  • 切勿參與可能違反OeS 「學生安全及防止暴力政策JICL」的任何活動。
  • 若任何人(尤其是你不認識的成年人)透過電子郵件要求提供個人資料、安排會面或要求現身,請提高警惕。
  • 若收到任何不當或令你感到不安的資訊,請通知你的導師或其他OeS網上學院職員。
  • 切勿在電子郵件上說一些你不希望被本地報章引述的話語。

對於透過家用電腦存取OeS技術平台的學生,父母應留意,OeS網上學院不能保證學生在OeS技術平台以外上網可獲得的資訊是否適當或準確。父母應監察子女的通訊及上網行為。




違反本政策的後果


使用本技術平台並非一種權利,而衹是一種使用授權。同意遵守本政策的用戶可使用OeS技術平台及就此提供的任何其他技術性資源。不同意遵守本政策的用戶可能會被拒使用本技術平台。可接受使用實踐、政策及指引適用於任何使用OeS技術平台的人士。

OeS網上學院的權利

OeS技術平台由資訊總監負責維護和管理,以確保其可用性及可靠性並履行教育使命。對於透過OeS技術平台傳送及儲存的材料,即使受密碼保護,使用者也不應期望其受到私隱保護。OeS網上學院有權:

  • 監視OeS技術平台的所有活動及使用情況
  • 判斷OeS技術平台的個別使用情況是否符合本政策
  • 保存使用者的使用記錄
  • 決定何為適當使用
  • 若斷定用戶參與未經許可的活動或違反本政策,可隨時取消用戶存取OeS技術平台的授權
  • 任何OeS網上學院管理員均可因任何理由終止學生的帳戶授權
  • 就有關或涉及OeS技術平台的活動全面配合任何調查及法律行動



OeS技術平台的定義和範圍


OeS技術平台涵蓋由OeS網上學院持有或租賃的所有網上電腦帳戶及應用軟件,以及將使用者連接至技術平台的任何電腦軟硬件配置。技術平台涵蓋所有應用軟件、儲存的文字,以及數據、話音和影像檔,另外也包含電腦帳戶、電子郵件、本地數據庫、供外部存取的數據庫、數碼化化資訊、通訊技術和新技術(在可供使用時)。任何並非OeS網上學院擁有、但獲容許存取本技術平台,或在未經授權的前提下存取本技術平台的電腦、週邊設備、平板電腦、手提電話、傳呼機或其他設備, 均應受本政策監管。




OeS網上學院的責任限制


對於由或透過OeS技術平台提供的功能或服務,OeS網上學院並不明確保證或暗示其不會出錯或沒有瑕疵。對於用戶可能蒙受的損害,包括但不限於數據丟失或服務中斷,OeS網上學院將概不負責。OeS網上學院並不負責透過系統取得或儲存於系統的資訊的準確度或品質。對於未經授權使用或故意作出的不當行為導致的財務責任或維修開支,OeS網上學院概不負責。OeS網上學院亦不承擔有關上網的任何電話費、線路費或使用費。

Back to Top