A A A

Student Handbook

1. Attendance


Regular attendance is key to student success. Students who do not attend/log on regularly and/or who do not actively participate in their courses seriously jeopardize their opportunities to learn and reach their potential.

Teachers will monitor attendance patterns for their respective students and will work with them, and their parents/guardians to support students in any way they can. If student attendance issues cannot be resolved, the administration will be informed and possible consequences may include: student and parental/guardian contact, attendance contracts, or even removal from the program.

Ontario eSchool operates on a continuous entry and exit model where there is no defined start date or end date. It is therefore the students’ responsibility to communicate their anticipated endpoint to the teacher and then adhere to that timeline (within reason).

Even though OeS is not a brick and mortar school, attendance is monitored via login tracking system. It is imperative that students spend time logged into their courses if they want to be successful in them. Teachers through email will contact students that lack a reasonable number of logins or if there is a long period of time without a login. If students expect a long delay in course login, it is best practice to let your teacher know ahead of time. If student attendance issues cannot be resolved, the administration will be informed and possible consequences may include: student and parental/guardian contact, attendance contracts, or even removal from the program.

Students normally average 6 months to complete a course. If extra time is required because of personal reasons, please confirm the extra time required with your teacher. Students who do not complete their course within 12 months will be removed from the course and will not be reinstated unless there are extenuating circumstances that can be verified by appropriate documentation.

Student Handbook


2. Appropriate Computer Use Policy


The Learning Management System (LMS) used by Ontario eSchool is designed for educational purposes only. Use of any of the LMS tools for any purpose other than the intended educational purpose is prohibited. Inappropriate uses include, but are not limited to, criminal, obscene, commercial, or illegal purposes.

The administration has the right to review all student work in order to determine the appropriateness of computer use. If the LMS is used inappropriately, the Administration will impose consequences, which may include suspensions and/or removal from the program. Students need to be very vigilant in order to prevent getting into a situation where they may be suspected for inappropriate use.

Therefore students are reminded to:

  • Always protect their passwords and not share them with anyone
  • Always inform their teachers of suspicious messages or other incidents that they encounter
  • Always access content that is intended for student use.



3. Safe Schools


Ontario eSchool will attempt to provide and maintain a safe and supportive educational environment in which learning can occur.

All members of the Ontario eSchool community, which includes students, staff and parents, will treat each other with respect in all interactions. Any actions determined to jeopardize the moral tone of the learning community including disrespectful, distasteful, abusive, harassing comments made to any of our community members will not be tolerated and will be dealt with swiftly by the Principal. Consequences may include, counselling, parental involvement, suspension, expulsions and/ or the involvement of the authorities. All steps of action shall comply with the laws governed by the Province of Ontario and the Ontario Education Act.




4. Assessment & Evaluation


Overview

The Assessment and Evaluation Policy for Ontario eSchool is consistent with Ministry policy and reflects the vision that the primary purpose of assessment is to improve student learning. Assessment is the process of gathering information that accurately reflects how well a student is achieving the curriculum expectations in a subject or course. Assessment for the purpose of improving student learning is seen as both “assessment for learning” and “assessment as learning”. As part of assessment for learning, teachers provide students with descriptive feedback and coaching for improvement. Teachers engage in assessment as learning by helping all students develop their capacity to be independent, autonomous learners who are able to set individual goals, monitor their own progress, determine next steps, and reflect on their thinking and learning. Ongoing formative assessments will be used to provide meaningful feedback about student progress and achievement in order to improve performance. Summative assessments will be used to arrive at the grade.

Course evaluation will be divided into two parts:

70% is based on cumulative evidence of summative evaluations undertaken throughout the semester;

30% is based on final evaluations, which will take place in the final third of the course. Final evaluations may or may not include an exam depending on individual course curriculum policy documents.

At the beginning of the course, students will receive course outlines that will include detailed assessment and evaluation information, and that also outline the percentage breakdown for both the 70% and the 30%. All courses will be evaluated according to the following breakdown:

Knowledge and Understanding20%
Thinking and Investigation15%
Communication15%
Application20%
Term Mark70%
Final Summative30%
Final Report Card100%

Although each course will have the same breakdown, individual courses may have subject specific summative tasks that will be used to determine the student’s grade. Please refer to the course outline as it is presented in your courses for more details.




5. Graduation Requirements


Students interested in earning the OSSD (Ontario Secondary School Diploma) must successfully complete a total of 30 credits; of which 18 are prescribed and 12 credits are optional. In addition, students must also complete 40 hours of Community Involvement Activities and must meet the provincial literacy requirement.

The successful completion of the Ontario Secondary School Literacy Test

Students must attempt to write the OSSLT at least once. If students are not successful on their first attempt they are now eligible to enroll into The Ontario Secondary School Literacy Course and if successful they will have accomplished the OSSLT requirements.




6. Prerequisites, Exemptions, And Substitutions


Prerequisites for Grade 11 and 12 courses are specified in the curriculum policy documents for the various disciplines. These can be viewed on the Ministry of Education website: In most cases, students will only be registered into a course once they have submitted documentation supporting their completion of the prerequisite course. For example, the prerequisite for the Grade 11 university preparation course in English is the Grade 10 academic course in English. A student who has completed a course of one type in a particular subject and grade that does not meet a stated prerequisite for a course in the same subject in the next grade but has completed a transfer course is equally eligible to take the requested course providing once again that supporting documentation is forwarded to OeS. In unique situations, mature students that do not have the prerequisite can apply for an exemption. This must be requested in writing to the Principal of OeS. The requesting student will have an opportunity to explain their circumstances.

OeS will not make substitutions for compulsory or optional courses; students are expected to complete all compulsory and optional courses as outlined in the Ministry of Educations OSSD graduation requirements.




7. Community Involvement


One of the purposes of the community involvement requirement is to develop strong ties between the students and their community, fostering valuable and long-term relationships. Students who are taking courses only through OeS and are not enrolled in any other school or program will be required to submit their record of community involvement if they have not yet completed the required 40 hours. Please see the list below of approved activities:

Activities approved:

Fundraising for non-profit organizations or assisting sports at the community level through religious affiliations such as helping at sales, bazaars, etc, seniors with chores in community committees, food banks, fairs, etc. in environment projects such as a recycling projects, etc..

OeS is also required to provide students with a record keeping form they will need to track and log the community involvement hours, which once complete will be kept in the student's OSR. Students are responsible for fulfilling this requirement on their own time. Please contact the Principal of Ontario eSchool if you have any further questions regarding community involvement as a prerequisite for the OSSD.




8. Ontario Student Record (OSR)


The Ontario Student Record (OSR) is the record of a student's educational progress through schools in Ontario. The Education Act requires that the principal of a school collect information "for inclusion in a record in respect of each pupil enrolled in the school and to establish, maintain, retain, transfer and dispose of the record”. The act also regulates access to an OSR and states that the OSR is "privileged for the information and use of supervisory officers and the principal and teachers of the school for the improvement of instruction” of the student. Each student and the parent(s) of a student who is not an adult (that is, a student who is under the age of eighteen) must be made aware of the purpose and content of, and have access to, all of the information contained in the OSR.

If a student is enrolled in one or more OeS courses and is also in another Ontario secondary school, the school where the student is taking the most courses will hold the OSR. Please note that OeS is not responsible to hold the OSR for students who have already graduated from another school, the graduating school is obligated to keep those records. If a student has not graduated high school and is exclusively pursuing courses towards their OSSD from OeS, OeS will request, establish and manage the OSR as per the Education Act. Items such as copies of report cards, community involvement and results of the Ontario Secondary School Literacy test are examples of records kept in an Ontario Student Record.




9. Ontario Student Transcript (OST)


The Ontario Student Transcript (OST) is an official document issued by all public or private schools in Ontario. The OST contains a list of the courses completed from grades 9 through 12 including those completed successfully or unsuccessfully. The OST is stored in the OSR and kept for many years after the student graduates. Please note, as per the policies outlined in the Ontario Student Transcript Manual 2010 document, the school that maintains the OSR is also responsible for updating and maintaining the OST. Consequently, if a student is enrolled full time or part time through another school, that school will house the OST. OeS is responsible to assist in this record keeping process by notifying the OST holding school of the course and final achievement of a student taking a course through OeS. When students complete a course through OeS, they will be mailed a final report card. In addition, a second copy will be forwarded to the school that secures the students’ OSR so they can add it to the ongoing list of courses on the students overall transcript. Students that need a certified copy of their Ontario Student Transcript are directed to contact the guidance department of the school that holds their OSR. Students that require their final marks to be faxed to the Ontario University Application Centre are requested to send an email to [email protected] clearly authorizing this request including their first and last name, the course and final mark to be submitted, OEN and OUAC reference number.




10. Prior Learning Assessment And Recognition (PLAR)


Students may receive a credit without taking a course if they can demonstrate that they have the skills and knowledge from prior learning to meet the expectations for the course set out in the provincial curriculum. This must be requested in writing to the Principal of OeS




11. Elementary Students


Under the OSS Policy, elementary school students are permitted to take “reach ahead” courses through a secondary school organization for credits. The successful completion of the course would be noted on the Ontario Student Transcript once the elementary school student becomes a secondary school student.




12. OSSLT


One of the provincial requirements of all OSSD graduates is the successful completion of the Ontario Secondary School Literacy Test (or equivalent).




13. Hardware/Software Requirements


Ontario eSchool uses Brightspace (also known as Desire2Learn or D2L) as our integrated learning platform.

On Ontario eSchool’s login site you can find a link that will analyze your device for platform capability.

https://oes.desire2learn.com/

or

Please click here for a System Check before you login.

  • Internet Access and Speed
    As long as you have High Speed Internet access, you can take courses with OVS.
  • PC Requirements (minimum requirements)
    • Pentium III (800 MHz minimum, higher recommended)
    • Minimum of 10 gigabytes free HDD space
    • 128k internet connection. A broadband high speed connection is strongly recommended.
    • Windows XP, or newer
    • Microsoft Office, Open Office or Google Docs (Some Business courses require Microsoft Office which will be notated within course registration)
    • 512 MB Ram
    • 12x CD-ROM (CD/DVD Recommended – Some courses require CD/DVD which will be notated within course registration)
    • Display setting 1024×768 resolution
    • Printer required
    • Students need a method to save work to a portable medium (CD, USB drive)
    • Audio: Sound card with speakers, microphone or headset
  • Macintosh Requirements (minimum requirements)
    • Power Mac G3 (600 MHz)
    • OSX
    • Microsoft Office, Open Office or Google Docs (Some Business courses require Microsoft Office which will be notated within course registration)
    • Students need a method to save work to a portable medium (CD, USB drive)
    • 512 MB Ram
    • Minimum of 10 gigabytes free HDD space
    • 12x CD ROM (CD/DVD Recommended)
    • 128k internet connection. A broadband connection is strongly recommended.
    • Display setting 1024×768 resolution
    • Printer required
    • Audio: Speakers and microphone or headset
Back to Top

A A A

學生手冊

1. Attendance


正常出勤的關鍵是學生的成功。學生,誰不參加/定期登錄並/或誰不積極參與他們的課程嚴重危及他們的機會去學習和達到他們的潛力。

教師將監控考勤方式為各自的學生將與他們和他們的家長/監護人,以支持學生在任何方式,他們可以。如果學生的出勤問題不能得到解決,美國政府將被告知和可能的後果可能包括:學生和家長/監護人聯繫,考勤合同,或從程序甚至拆除。

安大略省eSchool採用連續的入口和出口的模型裡沒有規定的開始日期和結束日期。因此,它是學生的責任,他們預計的終點傳達給老師,然後堅持到時間線(在合理範圍內)。

儘管OES不是磚頭學校,入學時通過登錄跟踪系統監控。當務之急是,學生花時間登錄到他們的課程,如果他們想成為成功的他們。教師通過電子郵件將與缺乏登錄合理數量的學生,或者有一種很長一段時間沒有登錄。如果學生希望長期拖延的過程中登錄,更是讓你的老師提前知道時間的最佳實踐。如果學生的出勤問題不能得到解決,美國政府將被告知和可能的後果可能包括:學生和家長/監護人聯繫,考勤合同,或從程序甚至拆除。

學生通常平均為6個月的時間完成一個療程。如果額外的時間是因為個人原因需要,請確認您的老師需要額外的時間。學生,誰不12個月內完成他們的課程從課程中刪除,並不會恢復,除非有情有可原的情況,可以通過適當的文件進行驗證。

學生手冊


2. 合適的計算機使用政策


學習管理系統(LMS)在安大略eSchool是專為教育目的。禁止在課程中的所有使用任何LMS工具比預期的教育目的以外的任何目的。不適當的用途包括,但不限於,犯罪,色情,商業或非法用途。

當局已審查,以確定電腦使用是否恰當全體學生工作的權利。如果LMS運用不當,政府將徵收的後果,其中可能包括從程序懸浮液和/或刪除。學生需要保持高度警惕,以防止他們進入的情況下,他們可能涉嫌不當使用。

因此,學生提醒

  • 始終保護自己的密碼,而不是與任何人分享
  • 一定要告訴可疑郵件或遇到其他事件的老師
  • 總是適用於學生使用的唯一的訪問內容。



3. Safe Schools


安大略eSchool將嘗試提供和維持其學習可以發生一個安全和支持教育環境。保護人的尊嚴和自尊是至關重要的,沒有商量的餘地。

安大略eSchool社區,其中包括學生,教師和家長的所有成員,將彼此互相尊重的所有交互。確定危害學習型社區,包括不尊重,讓人反感,辱罵,騷擾到我們的任何社會成員提出的意見的道德色彩的任何行為都不會被容忍,將由校長迅速處理。後果可能包括,輔導,家長參與,懸掛,驅逐和/或主管部門的參與。所有步驟的行動應遵守安大略省和安大略教育法所管轄的法律。




4. 考核評價


概觀

評估和評價政策安大略eSchool與教育部的政策一致的,反映了安大略eSchool有遠景,是評估的主要目的是提高學生的學習。評估是收集,準確地反映如何以及學生達到課程預期中的主題或課程信息的過程。評估提高學生學習的目的被認為是既“促進學習的評估”和“評估作為學習的”。至於評估學習的一部分,教師為學生提供描述性反饋和指導改進的地方。教師從事評估,幫助所有學生的學習培養他們獨立,自主的學習者誰能夠設定個人目標,監控自己的進度,確定​​下一步措施,並反思自己的思維和學習能力。正在進行的每個評估,並形成評估將被用來提供以提高性能有關學生的進步和成就有意義的反饋。總結性的評估將被用於在等級到達。

課程評價將分為兩部分:

70%是基於整個學期進行總結性評價的累積證據;

30%是基於最終的評價,評價將在課程的最後三分之一。最後的評估可能會或可能不包括考試視乎個別課程內容的政策文件。

在課程開始,學生們將接受課程綱要,其中將包括詳細的評估和評價信息,並且還概述各佔百分比為70%和30%。所有課程將根據以下故障進行評估:

認識與理解20%
思考與研究15%
通訊15%
應用20%
期限馬克70%
最後的總結性30%
最終報告卡100%

儘管每個當然將具有相同的故障,從個人課程可以具有將被用來確定學生的等級主題特定總結性的任務。請參考課程大綱,因為它是呈現在你的課程,了解更多詳情。




5. 畢業要求


有興趣的學生贏得了OSSD(安省高中文憑)必須成功完成共計30學分;其中18個規定,12學分是可選的。此外,學生還必須完成40小時的社區參與活動,必須符合省級素養要求。

圓滿完成了安省高中讀寫能力測試

學生必須嘗試寫OSSLT至少一次。如果學生沒有成功的在他們的第一次嘗試,他們現在有資格報名參加到安省高中讀寫課程,如果成功,他們將已經完成的OSSLT要求。




6. 先決條件,豁免和替代


先決條件11年級和12門課程都在為各學科課程的政策性文件規定。這些可以教育部的網站上看到:在大多數情況下,學生只能註冊成,一旦他們提交的文件支持的前提條件當然是其完成過程。例如,前提條件是11年級的大學預備課程,英語是10級的學術課程的英語。誰已經完成了一種在特定的科目和年級的課程不符合規定的先決條件為一療程在下一年級同一個問題,但已經完成了轉移過程中的學生同樣有資格參加申請過程中提供了一次這再次證明文件轉發到OES。在獨特的情況下,成熟是不具備的先決條件,可以申請豁免的學生。這必須以書面形式向OES校長提出要求。提出請求的學生將有機會解釋他們的情況。

OES不會做出換人的必修和選修課程;學生將完成在的的教育OSSD畢業要求教育部列出所有必修和選修課程。




7. 社區參與


其中一個的社區參與要求的目的是培養學生和他們的社區,培育有價值的和長期的關係之間的緊密聯繫。將需要誰是療程服用,只有通過操作環境,並且不參加任何其他學校或課程的學生提交的社區參與他們的戰績,如果他們還沒有完成所要求的40個小時。請參閱核准活動的下面的列表:

活動批准:

籌款非營利組織或協助體育在通過宗教信仰,如在銷售,集貿市場等,幫助老年人在社區居委會,糧食銀行,展銷會等,在環境項目瑣事社區層面,如回收利用項目等..

OES還需要為學生提供了記錄保存形式,他們將需要跟踪和記錄的社區參與小時,一旦完成將被保存在學生的OSR。學生有責任履行自己的時間這一要求。點擊這裡形式記錄小時的社區服務。如果您有任何關於社區參與作為OSSD的先決條件進一步的疑問,請聯繫安大略虛擬學校的校長。如果學生不能確定其預期的社會活動是否滿足要求,學生和家長被要求規劃社區參與活動的通知轉發給前校長來開始。點擊此處查看規劃社區參與的形式通知。




8. 安省學生記錄(OSR)


安省學生記錄(OSR)是一個學生的教育進步通過學校在安大略省備案。教育法規定,一所學校的校長收集信息“列入紀錄就就讀於該校,並建立每個學生的,保持,保有,轉讓和處置的記錄”,該法案還規定了對訪問OSR,並指出,OSR是“特權為學校的教學改進的信息和使用的監督人員和校長和教師”的學生。每個學生和學生的家長(S)誰是不是成年人(即學生誰是十八歲以下)必須知道的目的和內容,並有機會獲得,所有的信息包含在OSR。

如果學生已加入一個或多個操作環境課程,也是另一個安大略省中學時,學校裡的學生,走的大部分課程將舉行OSR。請注意,OES不負責持有OSR對誰從另一所學校已經畢業的學生,畢業班學校有義務保留這些記錄。如果學生還沒有畢業的高中和專門尋求對他們的OSSD課程,從OES,OES會要求,建立和管理的OSR按照教育法。如成績單,社區參與和安省高中讀寫能力測試結果的副本項目是保存在安省學生記錄記錄的例子。




9. 安省學生成績單(OST)


安省學生成績單(OST)是所有公立或私立學校在安大略省頒布的正式文件。該OST包含的成績完成了9到12課程包括成功或未成功完成的列表。該OST存儲在OSR和保持學生畢業後很多年。請注意,根據安省學生成績單手冊2010文檔中列出的政策,即維持OSR學校還負責更新和維護的OST。因此,如果一個學生是通過另一所學校就讀全職或兼職,該學校將容納OST。 OES負責通過通知過程和學生通過OES服用一個療程的最後成績的OST持有學校,以協助該記錄保存過程。當學生完成一門課程,通過OES,他們將郵寄一份最終報告卡。此外,第二個副本會被轉發到固定學生的OSR這樣他們就可以將其添加到課程的學生正在進行的列表整體成績單的學校。這需要他們的安省學生成績單的核證副本的學生被定向到與持有其OSR學校的指導部門。要求他們最後的痕跡學生傳真至安大略省大學申請中心請發送電子郵件至信息@ ontarioeschool明確授權該請求,包括他們的第一個和最後一個名稱,過程和最終成績將要提交,OEN和OUAC參考號碼。




10. 事先學習評估和承認(PLAR)


學生可能會獲得相應的信用沒有服用一個療程,如果他們能證明他們有能力從以往的學習知識,以滿足課程設置在省課程的期望。這必須以書面形式要求OES的主要




11. 小學生


根據OSS策略,小學生被允許通過一所中學組織學分採取“提前達到”課程。在成功完成課程將被標註在安省學生成績單,一旦小學生成為一所中學的學生。




12. OSSLT


其中所有OSSD畢業生的省的要求是成功地完成了安省高中讀寫能力測試(或同等學歷)的。




13. 硬件/軟件要求


安大略eSchool使用Brightspace(又稱Desire2Learn或D2L)作為我們的綜合學習平台。

在安大略省eSchool的登錄網站,你可以找到一個會分析你的設備平台的功能鏈接。

https://oes.desire2learn.com/

你登錄之前,請點擊這裡進行了系統檢查。

  • 互聯網接入和速度
    只要你有高速互聯網接入,你可以採取課程,OVS。
  • PC要求(最低要求)
    • 奔騰III(800 MHz的最低,推薦更高)
    • 為10 GB的硬盤空間最小
    • 128K的互聯網連接。寬帶高速連接,強烈推薦。
    • Windows XP或更新
    • 微軟Office,開放式辦公或谷歌文檔(有些商業課程需要微軟的Office這將在課程註冊記譜)
    • 512 MB Ram
    • 12倍的CD-ROM(CD / DVD推薦 - 有些課程要求的CD / DVD將被內課程註冊譜寫)
    • 顯示設置1024×768分辨率
    • 所需的打印機
    • 學生需要一種方法來保存工作提高到一個便攜式媒體(CD,USB驅動器)
    • 音頻:聲卡,帶揚聲器,麥克風或耳機
  • Macintosh要求(最低要求)
    • Power Mac G3(600兆赫)
    • OSX
    • 微軟Office,開放式辦公或谷歌文檔(有些商業課程需要微軟的Office這將在課程註冊記譜)
    • 學生需要一種方法來保存工作提高到一個便攜式媒體(CD,USB驅動器)
    • 512 MB Ram
    • 最小10 GB的硬盤空間
    • 12倍的CD ROM(CD / DVD的推薦)
    • 128K的互聯網連接。寬帶連接,強烈推薦。
    • 顯示設置1024×768分辨率
    • 打印機
    • 音頻:揚聲器和麥克風或耳機
Back to Top