A A A

Student Safety

1.General Statement Of Policy


  • It is the policy of the Ontario eSchool (OES) that its students have an educational experience that is safe, secure, peaceful, and free from student harassment, also known as bullying or cyberbullying. OES will not tolerate unlawful harassment of any type and conduct that constitutes bullying or cyberbullying as defined herein even if it occurs outside of students'academic interaction with OES is prohibited. Retaliation or false accusations against a victim, witness, or anyone else who in good faith provides information about an act of bullying or cyberbullying is prohibited. All students are protected regardless of their status under the law. Any person violating this Policy may be subject to disciplinary action up to and including expulsion. The Principal is responsible for the implementation of this Policy. All steps of action shall comply with the laws governed by the Province of Ontario and the Ontario Education Act.
Safety and Violence Preventionl (Full PDF Version)


2.Bullying And Cyberbullying Defined


  • "Bullying" is a single significant incident or a pattern of incidents involving a written, verbal, or electronic communication, or a physical act or gesture, or any combination thereof, directed at another student which:
    • physically harms a student or damages the student's property;
    • causes emotional distress to a student;
    • interferes with a student's educational opportunities;
    • creates a hostile educational environment; or
    • substantially disrupts the orderly operation of the school.
  • "Cyberbullying" is any conduct defined in paragraph 1 of this Section undertaken through the use of electronic devices, which include, but are not limited to, telephones, cellular phones, computers, pagers, electronic mail, instant messaging, text messaging, and websites. Cyberbullying includes, but is not limited to, the following actions: harassing, teasing, intimidation, threatening, or terrorizing another person by sending or posting inappropriate and hurtful e-mail messages, instant messages,text messages, digital pictures or images, or web site postings, including blogs or any other electronic device. OeS recognizes that this definition may not be all-inclusive, therefore, OeS reserves the right to impose discipline for actions that may fall outside this definition but are still within the general purposes of this Policy.
  • Bullying or cyberbullying occurs when an action or communication defined in paragraphs a or b of this Section:
    • occurs on, or is delivered to, school property or a school-sponsored activity or event on or off school property;
    • occurs off of school property or outside of a school-sponsored activity or event, if the conduct interferes with a student's educational opportunities or substantially disrupts the orderly operations of the school or school sponsored activity or event.
    • "Parent" means parent, parents, or legal guardians.
    • "Perpetrator" is a student who engages in bullying or cyberbullying.
    • "School property" is all real property and all physical plant and equipment used for school purposes, including public or private school buses or vans.
    • "Victim" is a student against whom bullying or cyberbullying has been perpetrated.



3.Reporting Procedure


  • Any student who believes he/she has been a victim of bullying or cyberbullying shall report the alleged act to the Course Instructor and School Principal or her/his designee. If a student is more comfortable reporting the alleged act to a person other than the Instructor or and Principal, the student may contact any OES employee. OES will respect the confidentiality of the victim and the perpetrator(s) as much as possible, consistent with OES's legal obligations and the necessity to investigate allegations of alleged bullying and cyberbullying and to take appropriate remedial disciplinary action when such conduct has been substantiated. However, no disciplinary action can be taken against a perpetrator solely on the basis of a confidential report.
  • Any school employee, volunteer, or employee of a company under contract with the school who has witnessed or has reliable information that a student has been subjected to bullying or cyberbullying shall report the incident to the School Principal. "Reliable information" shall include a parent's or student's claim that a student is the victim of bullying or cyberbullying.
  • All reports must be documented on the OES's Bullying/Cyberbullying Reporting Form. The victim or reporter shall provide copies of documents relating to the bullying or cyberbullying and/or save those documents so that the documents can be provided to the investigator. If a victim or reporter is either unwilling or unable to complete OES's Bullying/Cyberbullying Reporting Form, the school employee who receives the oral report will promptly fill out OES's Bullying/Cyberbullying Reporting Form, using, to the extent practicable, the reporter's or victim's own words to describe the alleged bullying or cyberbullying.
  • The school Principal shall by telephone and in writing by first-class mail notify the parent of the victim and perpetrator within forty-eight (48) hours of receiving OES's Bullying/Cyberbullying Reporting Form that a report of alleged bullying or cyberbullying was received and is being investigated in accordance with this Policy. The content of the notice shall comply with the laws governed by the Province of Ontario and the Ontario Education Act. The school Principal may waive the notification requirement if the Principal deems such waiver to be in the best interest of the victim or perpetrator. The waiver shall not negate the school's responsibilities to comply with the remainder of this Policy.
  • For students not enrolled in OES, OES will report any allegations of bullying or cyberbullying to the proper officials.



4.Investigation And Remedial Action


  • The school Principal shall begin an investigation of the alleged acts of bullying or cyberbullying within five (5) school days of receiving OES's Bullying/Cyberbullying Reporting Form. The goal of an investigation is to obtain an accurate and complete account of all incidents and circumstances deemed relevant to the allegations, to determine whether bullying or cyberbullying occurred, and to identify the student(s) responsible for the acts. These procedures are intended to protect the rights of a victim and perpetrator.
  • The Principal will complete the investigation within seven (7) business days of receiving the OES's Bullying/Cyberbullying Reporting Form, except in cases where the Principal grants a written extension. The Principal, if necessary, may grant an extension of the time periods for the completion of the investigation for up to an additional seven (7) business days. The Principal shall notify all parties in writing of the granting of an extension. The Principal will expedite the investigation of any claim involving physical violence or serious threats of harm.
  • To end bullying or cyberbullying and prevent its recurrence, the Principal will take such disciplinary action deemed necessary and appropriate, including but not limited to suspension from OES courses and/or referral to law enforcement. All steps of action shall comply with the laws governed by the Province of Ontario and the Ontario Education Act.
  • The Principal must document his/her investigation results in a written report. The investigation report shall include documentation of the statements/interviews of the victim, perpetrator, and witnesses. Copies of any documents or other evidence (e.g., electronic communications) obtained during the investigation shall be attached to the report. The Principal investigation report shall also include findings of whether the report of bullying or cyberbullying was substantiated and the reasons why the report was or was not substantiated. If the report is substantiated, the Principal shall include in the investigation report recommendations for remediating the bullying or cyberbullying and shall, when appropriate, recommend a strategy to protect students from retaliation. If the report is not substantiated as bullying or cyberbullying but the conduct violates school rules or policies, the Principal shall specify the school rules or policies violated and make appropriate recommendations to address the violations.
  • Since bullying or cyberbullying may begin again after several weeks or months have lapsed, the perpetrator in substantiated cases should be closely supervised. The victim should be encouraged to report any new problems to the Principal. The Principal should interview the victim regularly to make sure that there is no recurrence of bullying, cyberbullying, or retaliation. The Principal shall document all follow-up with the victim.



5.File Retention


  • The Principal will maintain in a separate confidential file the original completed OES's Bullying/Cyberbullying Reporting Form, investigatory interview notes and reports, findings made, the investigation report, including any decision for action, and other relevant investigatory materials, and maintain a copy of the file in the perpetrator's education record.



6.Appeal


  • For non-disciplinary remedial actions where no other review procedures govern, the parents of the perpetrator and victim shall have the right to appeal the Principal in writing within five (5) business days. The Principal shall review the Principal's decision and issue a written decision within ten (10) business days. 2. The procedures in RSA 193:13, Ed 317, and OES's discipline policies establish the due process and appeal rights for students disciplined for acts of bullying, cyberbullying, or retaliation.



7.Retaliation Or False Accusations


  • No person shall retaliate or make false accusations against a victim, witness, or anyone else who in good faith provides information about an act of bullying or cyberbullying. OES will discipline any individual who retaliates or makes a false accusation or encourages others to retaliate or make a false accusation against a victim, witness, or anyone else who in good faith provides information, testifies, assists, or participates in an investigation, proceeding or hearing relating to an act of bullying or cyberbullying. If a person makes a complaint or report that is not made in good faith, OES will take such disciplinary action deemed necessary and appropriate including but not limited to suspension, expulsion, or dismissal.



8.Policy Notification


  • All students and parents shall be made aware and confirm these policies upon registration to OES. The Principal shall also make all employees, volunteers, and contractors who have contact with students aware of these policies.
  • OES will post this Policy on OES's website. OeS shall comply with the laws governed by the Province of Ontario and the Ontario Education Act.
Back to Top

A A A

安全性和暴力預防

1.政策的總聲明


  • 安大略在線高中(OES)的政策是給學生提供一個安全,可靠,和平的教育經歷,不受學生的騷擾,即欺凌或網絡欺凌。 OES不容忍任何形式的非法騷擾。禁止本文所定義的欺凌或網絡欺凌行為,即使發生在學生與OES學術交流之外。禁止報復或虛假責難欺凌或網絡欺凌的受害者,目擊者,或任何處於良好意願,提供信息者。所有的學生,無論其法律地位如何,都受到保護。任何違反了本協議的人可能會受到紀律處分,甚至包括開除。校長負責實施本政策。所有的處分步驟應遵守安大略省和安大略教育法所管轄的法律。
安全和暴力預防 (完整PDF版本)


2.欺凌和網絡欺凌的定義


  • "欺凌"是針對另一學生,一個單一顯著的事件,或是一系列事件,涉及到書面,口頭,或電子通信,或物理行為或手勢,或上述所述行為的任意組合,包括:
    • 身體上傷害學生,或破壞學生的財務
    • 對學生造成情緒困擾
    • 干擾學生的教育機會
    • 建立了一個充滿敵意的教育環境; 或
    • 極大的擾亂的學校的有序運營
  • "網絡欺凌"是由本部分段落1定義的任何行為,通過電子設備進行,包括但不限於,電話,蜂窩電話,計算機,尋呼機,電子郵件,即時消息,文本消息,和網站。網絡欺凌包括但不限於以下行為:通過發送或張貼不恰當的和有害的電子郵件,即時消息,短信,數字圖片或圖像,或網站的帖子,包括博客,或任何其他電子設備來騷擾,戲弄,恐嚇,威脅,恫嚇其他人。安大略在線高中認識到這個定義不可能攬括所有情況,所有,安大略在線高中保留紀律處分一些可能不在這個定義範圍之內,但卻依然在本政策的總的目的之內的行為。
  • 我們認定欺凌和網絡欺凌發生了,當本部分此段內a,b定義的行動或交流:
    • 發生在,或發表在,學校的財產或學校主辦的活動或事件(在或不在學校的物業上)
    • 不在學校物業範圍內或在不在學校主辦的活動或事件內發生,如果行為乾擾學生的教育機會或實質上擾亂學校或學校主辦的活動或事件的有序運行
    • "家長"是指父親或母親,父母,或法定監護人
    • "肇事者"是指參與欺凌或網絡欺凌的學生
    • "學校財產"是指所有不動產和用於辦學目的所有物理廠房和設備,包括公共或私人校車或麵包車。
    • "受害者"是指欺凌或網絡欺凌實施學生。



3.報告程序


  • 任何相信自己(他/她)已經是欺凌或網絡欺凌的受害者,應該將被指控的行為報告給課程老師或學校校長,或她/他指定的人。如果學生覺得把被指控的行為報告給某個人會更自在,而不是老師或校長,那麼這個學生可以聯繫任何OES僱員。OES盡可能保護受害人和肇事者的秘密,這符合OES的法律義務,並且調查涉嫌欺凌和欺凌的指控,若此種行為已被證實,將採取適當的補救紀律處分。但是,不能唯一的根據保密報告,對肇事者採取紀律處分。
  • 學校裡任何員工,志願者,或與學校有合同關係的公司僱員,目擊到學生已經受到欺凌或網絡欺凌或有可靠的消息稱學生已經受到欺凌或網絡欺凌,應該將此事件報告給學校校長。 "可靠的消息"包括父母或學生的宣稱,其孩子或自己是欺凌或網絡欺凌的受害者。
  • 所有報告都必須記錄在OES的欺凌/網絡欺凌報告表中。受害人或報告者應提供與欺凌或網絡欺凌有關的文件副本,並且/或保存這些文件,這樣文件能夠提供給調查人員。如果被害人或報告者不願意或無法完成OES的欺凌/網絡欺凌報告表,收到的口頭報告的學校員工應該及時填寫OES的欺凌/網絡欺凌報告表,在可行的範圍內使用報告者或受害人自己的語言來形容聲稱的欺凌或網絡欺凌。
  • 按照本政策,校長在收到OES的欺凌/網絡欺凌報告表,報告聲稱的欺凌或網絡欺凌,在48小時內,校長要電話,或用普通郵寄書面通知受害人和肇事者家長,並進行調查。通知的內容應該符合安大略省和安大略教育法所管轄的法律。如果校長認為免除通知,符合受害人或肇事者的最高利益,而校長可以放棄通知的規定。但是免除並不應否定符合本政策其他規定的學校的責任。
  • 對於沒有在OES註冊的學生,OES將會把任何欺凌或網絡欺凌的指控報告給合適的政府人員。



4.調查和補救行動


  • 校長在收到OES的欺凌/網絡欺凌報告表,五(5)個上學日要開始對被指控的欺凌或網絡欺凌行為進行調查。調查的目的是為了獲取準確完整的,涉嫌與指控有關的所有事件和周邊環境的描述,決定欺凌或網絡欺凌是否發生,確定學生對此行為的責任。這些程序是為了保護受害者和肇事者的權利。
  • 校長在收到OES的欺凌/網絡欺凌的報告表的7個工作日內,要完成調查,除非在校長書面授予延期的情況下。在必需的情況下,校長給予最長可達七(7)個工作日的延期,來完成調查。校長以書面的形式通知各方調查延期。涉及到身體暴力或嚴重威脅的傷害的聲稱,校長將加快調查。
  • 要結束欺凌或網絡欺凌,並防止其死灰復燃,校長要採取認為有必要並且合適的紀律處分,包括但不限於休學OES課程,及/或轉介執法。所有的處分步驟應遵守安大略省和安大略教育法所管轄的法律。
  • 校長必須在書面報告中,記錄他/她的調查結果。調查報告應當包括受害者,肇事者和證人的陳述/採訪的文檔。在調查過程中獲得任何文檔的複印件或其他證據(如電子通訊),應附在報告內。校長的調查報告還應當包括欺凌或網絡欺凌的報告是否屬實的結果,及為什麼報告屬實或不屬實的原因。如果報告屬實,校長應在調查報告中建議補救欺凌或網絡欺凌的造成的傷害,並在合適的時間,將建議一個策略來保護學生免遭報復。如果報告,作為欺凌或網絡欺凌不成立,但其行為違反校規或政策,校長應該指出被違反的校規或政策,提出適當的建議,處理違規行為。
  • 由於欺凌或網絡欺凌在幾個星期或幾個月後會重新開始,應密切監督在已屬實的案件中的肇事者。受害人應鼓勵向校長報告任何新的問題。校長應定期會見受害人,確保不再發生欺凌,網絡欺凌或報復。校長應記錄受害人隨後所有的事情。



5.文件保留


  • 校長將維持一個分開的機密文件,保留原始完成的OES的欺凌/網絡欺凌報告表,調查採訪筆記和報告,調查結果,調查報告,包括任何處分決定,以及其他相關的調查資料,並保留的文件副本中在肇事者的教育記錄裡。



6.上訴


  • 對於其他審查程序管理的非紀律補救性處分,肇事者和受害者的父母在5個工作日內有權書面上訴給校長。校長應重新審查其決定,並在十(10)個工作日內發出書面決定。2.在RSA193,Ed317,以及OES的紀律條例中的程序建立了適當的過程,並給予由於欺凌,網絡欺凌或報復行為受處分的學生上訴的權利。



7.報復或誣告


  • 任何人不得打擊報復或誣告受害人,證人或其他真誠的提供關於欺凌或網絡欺凌行為的信息的人。OES將處分任何報復或誣告,或唆使他人報復或誣告受害人,證人或與欺凌或網絡欺凌行為相關的,懷著真誠信念的人,如真誠的信息提供人,證明人,協助或參與調查的人,訴訟人或審問人。



8.政策通知


  • 所有的學生和家長在OES註冊時,應意識到並確認這些政策。校長也應使所有員工,志願者,和與學生接觸的承包商,意識到這些政策。
  • OES將這些政策放在OES的網站上。OES應遵守安大略省和安大略教育法所管轄的法律。
Back to Top